top of page

1D-4D

Brace yourself for a long post!... kind of :)

1D:

Word vomitt, that's the name of the game for this part of the project. I wrote down 40-50 words that resonates with me.

Pick 2 words from this list: Barriers | Textures.... (textures is not on the list but that word developed after our first feedback class)

2D:

Create something that is a 2 dimensional representation of these two words.

3D:

Create a 3 dimensional representation of these two words.

For this part of the assignment I looked more into mental barriers. Such as 'doubt'. To get over doubt who have to start doing things. The first acrylic panel has 'Do' on it while the last one has 'ubt'. The panels in between represent the task that you start to do. Once you fill in the middle panels and look from the front, you mainly see the word 'Do'.

4D:

Create a 4 dimensional representation of these two words. It must be interactive and technology but be involved.

Using processing I created this sketch where I imported a photo I took and coded it so that when the mouse hovers of the picture in a certain way it will enhance the pixels, making it feel at though the user is moving through the image.

Original Photo:

This photo plays a significant role in my life and why I chose the word barriers.

In February, I embarked on a trip to central Vietnam with complete strangers. A couple months prior I responded to an FB post which stated that this backpack company was looking for a female model and in return the model would receive a free bag and all expenses paid for the trip. So I responded to the add knowing nothing about this "company". All I knew was their bags are dope and a free trip sounded nice! Needless to say, my parents were not thrilled about this decision. They were so against the idea, and regularly voiced their disagreement of the decision. Knowing myself, and living for the adventure I disregarded the barrier of my parents words and embarked on one of my most memorable experiences this past year living in Vietnam. This is a picture of me on the sleeper bus with the photographer, creative designer, and male model about to leave HCMC for an adventure!

Video 4D:

bottom of page